Digital Kids

My son is 22 months old and already asks and whines for iPad if it is free. He is so accustomed to the touch screen that anything that resembles it, such as the computer screen or the TV he touches like the iPad. Then he gets this puzzled confused look like why is nothing happening? It’s cute but I can’t help but wonder if all this technology is really “good” for our kids. Yes there are a lot of benefits to the technology. Especially the iPad and the various different eReader’s out now. Just think of all the space you save with the eReader. Now video games? not sure there is really a benefit to them except to keep your kids from bugging you. I remember when I was little coloring or playing with moon dough or playing with the neighbor girl. Having an imagination the wasn’t prompted by the media. I’ve thought of getting rid of the computer, tv, and iPad for a week and go “medieval” but I’m just as accustomed to all this technology as my kids. It is really hard to put “it” down. It’s convenient. But is convenience more important then having a relationship with your child and keeping them from becoming digital? I don’t think so. So maybe I’ll work up the courage to go “midlevel” on my kids. What is your opinion on all this? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Kayleigh

2 thoughts on “Digital Kids

  1. I am hopping by from Mosaic Reviews to say HI and to follow your blog on my reader. I look forward to starting this exciting journey and becoming one of your new readers! See you around. 😀 ~Elyse / Oiralinde

Leave a Reply

