Just a note

I’ve been so very overwhelmed lately. Overwhelmed about my house and my office. Trying to get it organized but can’t seem to get back in it to get anything done. I’ve been trying to keep the dishes from piling up and the laundry under control and it looks like I’ve made no progress. I worked on the house all day yesterday in between feedings with the baby and making lunch for the kids and occasional diaper changes and my mom comes over and says ” I thought you were cleaning today?”. WOW! My anxiety level almost immediately sky rocketed. Then came defense mode. “What do you mean? Ive been cleaning all day.”

After thinking about it for awhile and remembering all the helpful and encouraging posts from other moms blogs that I follow I know Im not alone. My house doesn’t have to be perfect. Clean yes. As in make sure there isn’t rotting food on the floor or on the counter. I think there is a difference between dirty and cluttered. Dirty is unsanitary conditions and cluttered is toys all over the floor. Which is going to happen no matter how hard I try for it not to. I’m learning to remember that my children are children and lower my expectations a bit.

One thought on “Just a note

  1. I’m so glad to hear you say this! YES, a clean house is important. NO, it does not need to be perfect. In fact, as long as you have small children, it’s a losing battle. As soon as I get a room cleaned (and I mean, REALLY cleaned!), that’s the room the entire family gravitates to. They love spending time in a clean room. But guess what…when everyone hangs out there it doesn’t stay clean long! Give yourself a pat on the back for your efforts and remember that the kids will eventually grow up and move out and THEN you…and I…can keep a spotless house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

