How do we know God is Really There? (Review)

HOW DO WE KNOW GOD IS REALLY THERE?

how-do-we-know-god-is-really-there-

This is a hardcover children’s picture book. This is the first book in a series that Apologia is introducing to explore the questions that kids have about the Christian faith. This book starts off with Thomas and his dad one night spending time together in their tree house to look at the constellations. As they are exploring the sky and talking about constellations his son asks “Dad, How do we know God is out there? I mean, I know the bible says He’s there. But how do we know that’s true?” The father then talks about the evidence of our universe and God.

This book came at a perfect time. My daughter had just started asking questions about God and Heaven. We sat down and read it together and she enjoyed it for the most part. It is a bit lengthy though at 23 pages and towards the end of the book she got a bit distracted and I’m not sure she got it all. I think the book could have been shortened or been made into a children’s chapter book. As I was reading it the question “How do we know God is Really There?” wasn’t mentioned until almost the last third of the book. I think as a children’s picture book they could have started with this question and it still would have been long enough. I do think though it is a great book for older children say 7 and up. My daughter was just lost by the end. I loved the explanation they gave and the science behind the answer. It put God into a new perspective for me.

I would recommend this book to a homeschool mom who was teaching astronomy because I do love the way it incorporated God, the stars and the evidence behind it.

Publisher: Apologia

Author: Melissa Cain Travis

Illustrations By: Christopher Voss

ISBN: 978 1 935495 96 3

Pages: 23

Retail Price: $16.00

“The heavens declare the glory of God and the skies proclaim the work of his hands.” Psalm 19:1

One thought on “How do we know God is Really There? (Review)

  1. Pingback: Apologia – How Do We Know God is Really There?

Leave a Reply

