Nearing Home Life, Faith, and Living Well By: Billy Graham (Review)

_225_350_Book_869_cover

Nearing Home Life, Faith and Living Well

Author: Billy Graham

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Retails:15.99 (paperback)

Genre: Religion/Inspirational/General

Book Description

“Don’t resent growing old many are denied the privilege.” In Nearing Home Billy Graham share his struggles and challenges he has faced with growing old. He describes how he never thought he would make it into his nineties but how he feels the Holy Spirit has lead him here. How he deals with nearing home and God’s strength and how to grieve for those who are close to you going home before you.

My Thoughts

What a humble man Billy Graham is. He put my life into a new perspective I’ve never looked into before.

 

“But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.”  Acts 20:24 (KJV)

 

I never thought that at my young age I would be able to engage in a book by Billy Graham. I thought it would be dry and I wouldn’t be able to get past the first few pages before I put it back on my shelf to collect dust. This is one of those times I’m glad I was wrong. After the first couple of aha moments, I definitely will never judge an Author by his age again.

In this book Nearing Home I’ve reevaluated how to look and live my life. I’ve always been fearful of death because  I fear uncertainty and like to know what’s coming. Billy Graham has calmed my spirit and opened my eyes to realizing I’m going home and to have comfort in that. He talks about old age and how to gracefully become old and how it is “the greatest surprise of his life.” Which is a surprise to me. I hear a lot of my elders who complain about being old and how they wish they were young again. I’ve been thinking all along that I would hate to get old. But after hear these wise words and words of encouragement I’m excited for what lies ahead.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Leave a Reply

